Follow by Email

February 17, 2009

Categories of Fire Extinguishers

There are several types of fire extinguishers. They have been specially designed for determined types of burning material. Why? As we have gained more experience on this theme, we have learned that some extinguishing agents are better than others when you use them on wood, liquids or electrical equipment:

Class A

This type of extinguisher was created for combustible materials based on cellulose, like paper, wood or cardboard, or materials like cloth, styrofoam, trash or plastics. Its markings are a green triangle with an A inside and a black square with burning wood and a burning trashcan.

Class B

It involves flammable liquids and greases. Some examples are gasoline, kerosene, oil, paint, solvent and rubber cement. It is represented by a B within a red square and a black square with a burning gas can.

Class C

The Class C extinguishers are those made for electrical fires. Represented by a blue circle with a C inside and a square with a burning plug and socket, they were created for extinguishing fires created within a computer, an appliance or a fuse box.

Class D

This kind of extinguisher was designed for flammable metals, like sodium, magnesium or titanium. They have a yellow star with a D inside.

Class K

Although it’s also used for oils, this extinguisher was specially created for commercial kitchens. It’s a rare kind of extinguisher since it only has eight years in the market. Most restaurants still use the Class B extinguisher.

No comments:

Post a Comment